A Brief History of East Lansing

  • Introduction
  • Timeline
Essays on the people, buildings, and events in the conjoined histories of East Lansing and Michigan State University, with a particular interest in the Michigan Agricultural College era (1855–1925), and a timeline of significant events.

Featured Post

College Heights

Designed in 1904 by Professor of Drawing and Design Chace Newman, College Heights blends seamlessly into East Lansing’s landscape today—but it was more than just a pretty view. This newly expanded article explores how Newman’s vision was a much-needed fix at the time. His design transformed the area, shaping the neighborhood we know today. Read More.

Recent posts

←Previous Page
1 … 13 14 15 16 17 … 19
Next Page→

  • Johnson W. Hagadorn House (1905—1972)


  • Gymnasium (1916)


  • Glen Cairn (№ 1, 1926; № 2, 1938; № 3, 1939)


  • Giltner House, 652 Hillcrest Ave. (1924)


  • Sanford Farness House, 730 Grove St. (1964)


  • Farm foreman’s house (1869—1930)


  • Faculty Row № 9, 217 Beech St. (1884)


  • Engineering Shops (1885—1916)


  • Engineering Building (1907—1916)

←Previous Page
1 … 13 14 15 16 17 … 19
Next Page→

A Brief History of East Lansing

A history of Michigan State University and the college town it engendered.

A Brief History of East Lansing by Kevin S. Forsyth is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0.

About

  • Sources
  • Land Acknowledgement